Tuesday, 5 June 2012

ChicoSci Pinoy Rocks Music

ChicoSci (often typeset as Chicosci) is a 5-piece Filipino rock band based in Manila. The band is composed of Miggy Chavez, Mong Alcaraz, Calde Calderon, Macoy Estacio and Ariel Lumanlan.

ChicoSci (previously Chico Science) was originally composed of Miguel "Miggy" Chavez, Miguel "Mong" Alcaraz, Carlos "Calde" Calderon, Jan Kevin Santos and Joel Salvador from the Ateneo de Manila University. They later recruited guitarist Sonny Baquisal and long-time friend Eugene "Yug" Esquivias to solidify the songwriting process. The band won an inter school Battle of the Bands and spent the prize money recording a demo – an investment that landed them a two-album record deal with EMI Philippines. The band released the albums Revenge of the Giant Robot and Method of Breathing.

Barbie's Cradle Pinoy Rocks Music

Barbie's Cradle was a Filipino alternative rock band, formed in 1998 by the remaining members of Barbie Almalbis's previous band, Hungry Young Poets, and disbanded in 2005 when Almalbis took up a solo career. The band released three albums, Barbie's CradleMusic from the Buffet Table, and Playing in the Fields, the last two of which featured lyrics notable for their Christian-oriented content, brought about by personal changes in the life of songwriter Almalbis.

 Aside from Almalbis, members over the years included Rommel de la Cruz who played Bass throughout the band's existence; drummers Franklin Benitez and Wendell Garcia, who were part of the band before and after the release of Music from the Buffet Table, respectively, and Kakoi Legaspi, who took up a second guitar position just prior to the band's dissolution in 2005.

Bamboo Pinoy Rocks Music

Bamboo was a Filipino alternative rock band founded in 2002 by Francisco "Bamboo" MañalacIra CruzNathan Azarcon and Vic Mercado.Francisco "Bamboo" Mañalac serves as the band's frontman. Contrary to popular belief, the band is not named after him. According to Ira Cruz, the guitarist, the word bamboo relates to strength and durability with an island feel to it. Also, it's very Filipino and Asian at the same time.

Asin Pinoy Rocks Music

Asin (sometimes spelled ASIN, in all capital letters) is a Pinoy folk and folk rock band from the Philippines. They started as a trio in the late 1970s, and was originally known as the Salt of the Earth]. They later changed their name to "ASIN", which means salt in Filipino language.

AfterImage Pinoy Rocks Music

AfterImage is a Filipino alternative rock/pop rock band who was active in the 1990s. They disbanded in 2001 after 11 years as a band, having released three studio albums. After disbanding, Wency Cornejo, the band's vocalist, pursued a solo career. AfterImage was the band behind the commercially popular songs "Habang May Buhay" (While There's Life), "Next in Line", and "Mangarap Ka" (Dream). In 2008, the band reunited and released their fourth studio album.
The band's first album, entitled Touch the Sun, was released in 1992 on Dyna Records (now Dyna Music). Among the eight songs that the album contained, four were released as singles: "Bai (Sa Langit ang Ating Tagpuan)", "Only You", "Next in Line", and "Pagtawid". 

6cyclemind Pinoy Rocks Music

6cyclemind (sometimes spelled as Six Cycle Mind / 6 Cycle Mind) is a Filipino band composed of Tito Fortunato "Tutti" Caringal on vocals, Ryan "Rye" Sarmiento onrhythm guitars and backing vocals, Roberto "Bob" Cañamo on bass guitar and Herbert Hernandez on lead guitar. Their music is a fusion of alternative and pop music.

3rd Avenue Pinoy Rocks Music

3rd Avenue is a Filipino show band composed of Paolo Ledesma (lead vocals), Teena Lim (lead vocals), Marlon Barnuevo (keyboards), Beng Gatmaitan (drums), RV Amaranto (bass guitar) and Lester Cerda (Saxophone and Flute).
Prior to recording their first solo album in 2007, they had been performing at weddings, as well as in various bars and restaurants in Manila with their acoustic setup. They won second place in the 2004 Nescafé De-wired 2 Acoustic Band Competition and Song-Writing Contest. With the addition of their newest members (RV and Lester) they have completed their current line-up.